The Musings of an Elective Orphan

Sarah Brandis

Silly hats – metaphorical and otherwise.

You can't beat a silly hat for entertainment value.

You can’t beat a silly hat for entertainment value.

So, apart from the fun of playing dress up in a silly hat and cape, I finally got closure on a big chapter of my life.  I have graduated, YAY!  I officially hold a BSc Honours 2:1 in Cognitive Neuroscience.

The graduation ceremony was a big reminder of my elective orphanhood though.  Pretty much everyone else arrived with their families.  Ouch.  I hid in a corner until my boyfriend arrived to keep me company.  I don’t like that feeling.  It’s the same awkwardness I get at Christmas/Weddings/Easter/Birthdays/anything ‘milestoney’.  But this is my path.  I need to keep walking down it with my head held high.  Remembering this part-way through the formalities of the graduation ceremony, I announced to the graduate next to me that ‘while most students were here for their parents, I was here to spite mine’.  Woah, there she is – elective orphan in the room.  Still, it was true.  I wasn’t missing my parents, I just felt weird because of my different situation, and the social awkwardness of someone beginning to ask you where your parents are, and then trailing off mid-sentence as they realise their faux pas…

So that 4 year effort is all done and dusted.  Back to the job-hunt-a-thon.  It is a very different world job hunting in the graduate sector.  There are just so many of us.  I’m staying positive though, and applying for all sorts of interesting things.  I’m the sort of person who likes to wear many hats (metaphorical, uniform, or fancy dress) so I am casting my net wide.  I will keep you posted on my progress.

Slide1In other news, a few people have been asking how to get my book.  So here you go:

  • It is only available as a Kindle ebook.  Sorry guys, I can’t afford to produce paper copies right now.
  • Not owning a Kindle doesn’t have to stop you reading it though.  Download the FREE (yes, free) Kindle reading app from THIS LINK HERE (click it, go on), and read my ebook (and many others!) on your tablet/laptop/phone.
  • If you have a Kindle (or just got the free reading app) then go HERE FOR UK, or HERE FOR AUSTRALIA, or HERE FOR USA.

Have a good week guys!

 

One comment on “Silly hats – metaphorical and otherwise.

  1. diahannreyes
    July 11, 2014

    Happy graduation, Sarah. Quite an accomplishment. You seem to be someone who is fierce in your convictions and courage in the best ways possible.

Leave a Reply

Follow The Musings of an Elective Orphan on WordPress.com
