The Musings of an Elective Orphan

Sarah Brandis

Post-graduation panic!

Help

Me, four years ago.

It’s almost time to graduate, and it’s going to creep up on me very fast.  So I need to make a firm decision about my career path very soon.  This is exiting and scary in equal measures.  It feels like only last week that I was filling out my UCAS application.  But it was four years ago.  Four… where did they go?  Back then, I knew I was fascinated by the brain/mind connection, and I knew I wanted to help people.  But for all my enthusiasm I had little direction to my plans.

So I’m very shorty to have a BSc in Cognitive Neuroscience.  Awesome.  But where to go next?  I think my recent counselling sessions have helped me to decide on what I probably do want to do, and what I probably don’t too.  I am currently trying to decide between Cognitive Behavioural Therapy and Life Coaching.  If money was no issue I would do both at the same time, but alas (*touches back of hand to forehead) I am going to have to choose.  Today I have been reading some blog posts from some Life Coaches to get more of a feel for what their role really is about, and if it might be right for me.

The most common theme I keep reading is that coaches all seem to end up with their niche being strongly based on their own life experiences.  I think this is awesome and very encouraging.  I come from a childhood of abuse and unhappiness.  My goals in life revolve around security and happiness.  So I’m thinking that debunking the mystery of happiness, and then getting some, could be my niche.

Happiness, the mind, and unicorns.  Mystical or mythical?

Happiness, the mind, and unicorns. Mystical or mythical?

‘Happiness’ is a magical word.  We throw it around in everyday conversation, but when asked to define it, we are tongue-tied.  It is a little bit mysterious, rather like the mind itself.  We talk about our minds all the time, but when asked to define the mind, we get lost.  We could describe the brain, or cite some Freud/Jung/Descartes.  But can you really define the mind?  The mind is something that we can’t really measure with current science.  It’s not really a ‘thing’, meaning that we can’t see it or poke it with a stick.  Kind of like happiness too….Hmm… coincidence?  Perhaps.

Anyway, I am attending a trial day at a coaching course on Saturday.  I will let you all know what I learn.

6 comments on “Post-graduation panic!

  1. diahannreyes
    February 4, 2014

    Look forward to reading about how the class goes, Sarah!

    • sarahbgoode
      February 4, 2014

      I’m so excited to try it! Will do a post about it soon 🙂

  2. sarahkreece
    February 5, 2014

    I empathise with your dilemma! Enjoy investigating your options and I hope one speaks to you or a door opens that helps make your choice clear 🙂

    • sarahbgoode
      February 5, 2014

      Thank you 🙂 I think I am just waiting for one option to speak to me (or slap me), or just stand out more than the other. It’s not a bad place to be in though, its awesome to have options.

      • sarahkreece
        February 6, 2014

        Options are awesome, choices are a pain in the neck!

      • sarahbgoode
        February 6, 2014

        Yeah that’s true, good point 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 4, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
Follow The Musings of an Elective Orphan on WordPress.com
