The Musings of an Elective Orphan

Sarah Brandis

Mad Season

Well I haven’t been on here much lately – it is officially ‘mad season’ for me.  During the summer when I am not at uni, I work for an event medical provider, as well as trying to keep up with my Etsy shop, blogging (been a bit slack there this month), dancing and fitness, and planning for my next book.  I haven’t had much time for my usual psychology-themed musings if I’m honest, but I have been reading an awesome psychology book which I will tell you about.  So here is what I have been up to…

What I would like to camp in vs. what I currently camp in

What I would like to camp in vs. what I currently camp in

Work is all about festivals at this time of year.  From food themed shows to medieval jousting, we have been everywhere this summer.  I have just landed back home from one of my favourites, VW White Noise.   I sooo want a V Dub!  This is very firmly on my list of things to work towards once I have graduated and am working in my chosen profession.  I love the idea of being able to drive/sleep anywhere in something that is both compact but also practical.  Plus they are just really cute!

Currently reading this, am very impressed!

Currently reading this, am very impressed!

Whilst residing in my ‘not quite a V Dub’ pop-tent, I have been reading an awesome book.  I must admit I got ‘book envy’ – I totally wish I had written this one!  If you haven’t heard of Dr Steve Peters, he is the sports psychiatrist famous for working with the british cycling team, and a whole list of other famous sports people.  His book, The Chimp Paradox, approaches human behaviour in a really interesting and accessible way.  I won’t ruin it for you, just read the book.  If you have read it already, then my chimp is named Gerald.

Meanwhile, my book is doing OK I think.  It is currently selling on Amazon, Kobo, iBooks, Barnes and Noble, and the Sony Bookstore.  I self-published in May, and sales figures are just starting to trickle through now.  This has been an exercise in patience, I can tell you!  Worth the wait though, and maybe one day writing will buy me a VW camper… watch this space!

My flower picking companion, and what I do with the flowers later on

My flower picking companion, and what I do with the flowers later on

Mad season is nearly over though.  It’s almost time to go back to uni – ahh just one more year of feeling really old next to all those twenty-somethings!  And with uni comes one of my other jobs, dog walking.  I love it.  It’s a great way to decompress after lectures.  And while I’m out walking I might find some wild flowers to press and make into jewellery for my Etsy shop – multi-tasking at it’s best.  So long as I can get to the flowers before my four-legged friend pees on them.  This has been an issue in the past!  *Disclaimer – nothing in my Etsy shop has been peed on… hopefully.

Here are the links if interested:

Dr Steve Peters’ book can be found here.

More info on my book can be found on my About page here.

My Etsy shop, Cirrus Boutique, is here.

And my four-legged friend can usually be found in a mud puddle, like so…

Nooooooo :(

Nooooooo 😦

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 21, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
Follow The Musings of an Elective Orphan on WordPress.com
