The Musings of an Elective Orphan

Sarah Brandis

Stop and smell the flowers

A very peaceful new hobby

A very peaceful new hobby

I am a total fidget.  I always have a project or three on the go.  Sometimes I get myself so busy that I barely look up from my desk – and then I am missing out on the world.  I have been into crafting for a couple of years now and have a little Etsy shop.  And I recently learnt a craft that requires me to pick flowers on my local heath – win!  Not only am I satisfying my hyperactive, twitchy urges to make stuff, but I get to stop and smell the flowers at the same time.  It’s the best of both worlds.

Ta-dah!

Ta-dah!

I have been picking wild flowers, pressing them, and then preserving them in resin.  They make really unique pieces of jewellery.

The process of making these does require a great deal of patience – a virtue I struggle with. Pressing the flowers properly takes at least three days, and then another three for the resin to set hard.  But then I can get to work sanding and polishing, which keeps me quiet.  I think it is about time I learned the art of patience though, so this is good for me.  But the best thing about it is that it gets me away from my desk/laptop, out in the daylight smelling the flowers.

I must get outside more!

I must get outside more!

I’m actually pretty desperate to get outside and pick more today, but it’s been raining cats and dogs here, so I blogged instead.  I might still go in a bit, the heath smells all lovely and fresh after a downpour.

 

2 comments on “Stop and smell the flowers

  1. Robyn
    July 30, 2013

    I love Etsy! What is your shop called?

    • sarahbgoode
      July 30, 2013

      Hi Robyn 🙂 my shop is Cirrus Boutique. It has a Facebook page too.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 30, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
Follow The Musings of an Elective Orphan on WordPress.com
