The Musings of an Elective Orphan

Sarah Brandis

I am what I am!

Cringe-worthy teenage colloquialism, but so apt!

Cringe-worthy teenage colloquialism, but so apt!

So here I am in my early thirties, an elective orphan who has finally sorted her life out, and now functions in society under the guise of a ‘normal’ person.  So being in a really good place; happy relationship, good job and career plan underway, I decided it was time to fulfil a long-standing ambition of mine and write a book about my ‘elective orphan’ status.  Since I am studying to be a psychotherapist, I decided to give my memoirs a psychology twist.  I was very honest – I purged all of the mistakes from my twenties onto paper (and then rationalised them with some psychology).  But that wasn’t the brave part.  The brave part is showing up to work and facing the younger staff who I am ‘team leading’, knowing that they now know my darkest secrets….  Fun!

I have rocked the boat, now I am just waiting for the waves.  Nobody has given me any trouble as yet, but I am expecting a few of the younger, perhaps less-worldly team members to be a bit unsure of how to take me.  ‘Hi, I’m your team leader for the day.  Please listen to my instructions, and try not to picture me spinning around a pole in ridiculous shoes – thanks!’

No, they don't feel natural.  And no, you can't 'have a feel'.  I got them for myself, not for your amusement.

No, they don’t feel natural. And no, you can’t ‘have a feel’. I got them for myself, not for your amusement.

I hope that most of my friends and colleagues that only know the ‘new’ me (and not my past) will feel they know me well enough not to judge me on my past mistakes – they were learning experiences after all.  Nobody is born with an instruction manual, no one gets everything right – and without mentally sound parent-figures to guide you, a few hiccups are to be expected, right?  I don’t regret my past anyway, and I am certainly not ashamed.  If I hadn’t waded through all that crap then I wouldn’t be the worldly person I am today – I could even be pretty bloody boring!

Whatever!

Whatever!

At the end of the day it was my decision to put my past out there, so I can’t really complain too much if a few young-uns give me some back chat (but I can high-five them in the face).  It’s time to be really brave now, and say ‘I am what I am’ – YOLO, bitchez!’

P.S.  Details of my book are on my about page

Leave a Reply

Follow The Musings of an Elective Orphan on WordPress.com
